National Series

New Zealand National Championship Series

The NZ Drag Racing series is a national points based competition open to all NZDRA Sportsman to Group One licence holders. The series consists of 3 National competition events below.

There is one divisional events at Nelson’s Motueka Dragway for group 2, 3 and 4 vehicles and a Super Street points meet (for street cars, Modified Bike and Junior dragsters, Super Sedan and Competition Bike only) at Tokoroa making a total of 5 NZDRA rounds for that division.

NZDRA Round   Event Track Date
  1 Super Street Nationals Tokoroa December 2nd
1 2 Central Nationals Masterton December 9 & 10
2 3 Summer Nationals Taupo December 31st
3 4 Divisional Meeting Motueka January 20th
4 5  50th NZ Nationals  Masterton March 17 & 18


Group 1: Top Alcohol and Top Doorslammer

These two divisions will run at all National Event rounds as above and the Series Champion for each class will be the point’s leader after the NZ Nationals conclusion.

Group 1: Top Alcohol and Top Doorslammer.

Group 2: Competition (Dragster, Altered & F/C) Super Stock (Top Street, Sport Compact) and Competition Bike.

Group 3: Supercharged Outlaws, Modified, Super Sedan, Modified Bike, Super Street and Junior Dragster.

Group 4: Super Gas, Racer’s in group 2, 3 & 4 can gain points at all National and both regional events and the Series Champion for each class will be the points leader after the NZ Nationals conclusion.

Allocated Points per series round would be: Qualifying Points per round

Winner 100 Number 1 8 Number 5 4
Runner Up 80 Number 2 7 Number 6 3
Semi final 60 Number 3 6 Number 7 2
Quarter final 40 Number 4 5 Number 8 1
Eighth final 20        


Entry points per Event: 20 (must attend the event). Twenty (20) bonus points will be awarded at entry for the first interisland event attended (either North or South).

Points are awarded to racers for claiming National records on the basis of 5 points for ET & 5 points for mph.

Points are not transferable between divisions. Only one class change permitted within division to retain allocated points.

If in the event of a tie for points at the Grand Finals the car/bike with the better placing at this event is declared the winner, i.e. most rounds or quicker E.T or higher MPH (and in that order).

In the event there is less than four (4) vehicles for the first round in any group 2, 3 & 4 division, 60 points will be awarded regardless of placing at conclusion of event.

Championship Points allocation notes.

Should an event be abandoned at any time after qualifying has been completed the minimum potential points will be awarded to competitors.

If all competitors in a round of racing have not faced the starter at the point of abandonment of the event, no championship points will be allocated from that round. Point’s allocation in these instances will revert to the previous complete round of racing.